taken from http://www.usfencing.org/wheelchairfencing


Official age for participation in USA Fencing and IWAS Wheelchair Fencing tournaments is 13 years old on 1 January in the year of the competition; there is no maximum age limit.

There are three categories of competition, based upon disability classification. The three categories are: A, B, and C, with each category indicating the degree of disability from least “A” to most severe “C.” An official classifier for IWAS determines the specific category for each wheelchair fencer. Athletes compete according to category at international tournaments, but the categories are combined for competition at U.S. tournaments. The events for wheelchair fencers at U.S. tournaments include men’s and women’s epee, foil, and saber. Internationally, women’s saber is not an event in the Paralympic Games, although it is included in non-Paralympic competitions. The list of fencers and their results and points indicates the fencer’s level for selection purposes. For the Paralympic Games, the competitions are only for “A” and “B” fencers with separate competitions for each group; Category “C” fencing not an official competition in the Paralympic Games.


Classification divisions are based on impairment.

CATEGORY A - These athletes have a good sitting balance, either with or without the support of their lower limbs. Athletes with a low level spinal lesion, athletes with double above the knee amputation, and comparable impairments can compete in this class. Also, their fencing arm is fully functional.

CATEGORY B - These athletes have a fair sitting balance and an unaffected fencing arm. They most often have paraplegia or incomplete tetraplegia with fencing arms that are minimally affected.

CATEGORY C - These athletes have spinal cord injuries where both arms and legs are affected.

Register for Class

Enroll Now

Contact Info

Coach Katalin Gasparin
Phone: (817) 876-0980
E-mail: gasparinfencing@outlook.com